top of page



As part of the Horizon 2020 Programme, Universities, Research Institutes, NGOs, Enterprises, and other partners from Europe and Africa have joined a consortium to create the EWA-BELT project.

This research project aims to find better solutions to Sustainable Intensification in agriculture concerning production, soil conservation, water management, plant genetics, and agroforestry systems; problems related to phytopathology, fungal diseases, and food storage represent one of the main challenges.

Furthermore, the Consortium aspires to create concrete solutions in the field of food security. The multilevel activity of the partners allows a multifaceted analysis of relevant problems in East and West Africa. Moreover, an exchange of best practices and expertise is generated, thus realizing a real belt of interchange on sustainable intensification solutions between different agricultural Systems in Africa. 


Where We Are


Logo uniss.png

Università degli Studi di Sassari

The Desertification Research Centre (Nucleo di Ricerca sulla Desertificazione - NRD) is an Interdepartmental Centre of the University of Sassari.

Logo ACRA.png

ACRA Foundation

ACRA is an Italian NGO based in Milan and involved in a wide range of projects both in Italy and abroad, focusing on fighting poverty and inequality, environment protection, and combating climate change.


Cranfield University

Cranfield University is a leading European postgraduate-only university. Based in the UK it focuses on research and training related to agrifood and the environment, energy, water, management, aerospace, transport, and manufacturing.

Université Nazi Boni.png

Nazi Boni University

Nazi BONI University (UNB) is the former Polytechnic University of Bobo-Dioulasso; it is located at Bobo Dioulasso the second biggest town of Burkina Faso with centers at Gaoua and Banfora. The university comprises institutes, high schools, and university centers.

Institut de l'Environnement et de Recherches Agricoles.png


The Institut de l’Environnement et de Recherches Agricoles (INERA) is the main institute for agricultural and environmental research in Burkina Faso. It is in charge of formulating, implementing, and coordinating the country’s environmental and agricultural research.

University of Makeni.png

University of Makeni

The University of Makeni is a Catholic University established through an act of law as a private university accredited as the Fatima Institute since 2005, with its legal status as the University of Makeni over two campuses in Makeni in 2009 while keeping Fatima as the main campus identification.

Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation.png


Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation (KALRO) is the premier agricultural research organization in Kenya. It is comprised of 16 semi-autonomous research institutes spread across the country. NON-RUMINANT RESEARCH INSTITUTE – (KALRO-KAKAMEGA) situated in western Kenya is one of the Research Institutes at KALRO.

University of Nairobi.png

University of Nairobi

The University of Nairobi (UoN) is the oldest and largest public University in Kenya. It is constituted of six colleges: College of Architecture and Engineering, College of Health Sciences. College of Biological and Physical Sciences, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences, and College of Education and External Studies.

Hawassa University.png

Hawassa University

Hawassa University is one of the eight research Universities (among more than 40) In Ethiopia. Hawassa University (HU) was established in 1976 as a college of Agriculture. It became a full-fledged university, at the turn of the 21st century, and the name HU was coined in 2000.



OCCAM – Observatory on Digital Communication - is a Non-Profit Organization, established by UNESCO. It is associated with the United Nations Department of Public Information and in Special Consultative Status at the UN Social and Economic Council (ECOSOC). As such, it has a permanent secretariat at the UNHQ in New York.

Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology.png

Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology

The Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology (NM-AIST) is one in a network of Pan-African Institutions of Science and Technology located across Sub-Saharan Africa.

Tanzania Agricultural Research Institute.png


TARI was established by the Parliamentary Act No. 10 of 2016 to enhance the strengthening of the agricultural research system in Tanzania. It is a semi-autonomous body under the Ministry of Agriculture responsible for all agricultural research activities conducted by the National Agricultural Research System (NARS) in Tanzania.


Kundok Development Consult Limited

The Kundok Development Consult Limited (KDC) is a limited liability entity that was formed and registered with the Registrar General Department (RGD) of Ghana and incorporated under the Companies Act, 1963 (Act 179) in 2014.


IRD (Institut de Recherche pour le Développement)

IRD (Institut de Recherche pour le Développement / the French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development) is an internationally recognized multidisciplinary organisation, working mainly in partnership with countries in the Mediterranean and intertropical zone.

Aristotelio Panepistimio Thessalonikis_edited.png

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTh) is one of the largest and oldest universities in Greece. The Department of Agricultural Economics belongs to the School of Agriculture and in particular, the Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry, and Natural Environment of AUTh.



STMicroelectronics Srl is one of the world’s largest semiconductor companies, offering one of the industry’s broadest product portfolios. ST serves customers across the spectrum of electronics applications with innovative semiconductor solutions.



CIRAD is the French agricultural research and international cooperation organization for the sustainable development of tropical and Mediterranean regions.

International Centre for Research in Agroforestry.png

World Agroforestry

World Agroforestry (ICRAF) is a center of science and development excellence that harnesses the benefits of trees for people and the environment. Leveraging the world’s largest repository of agroforestry science and information, we develop knowledge practices, from farmers’ fields to the global sphere, to ensure food security and environmental sustainability.

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research.png


The Savanna Agricultural Research Institute (SARI) is one of the 13 research institutes of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). The mandate of the CSIR-SARI is “to provide farmers in the Northern, Upper East and Upper West Regions with appropriate technologies to increase their food and fiber crop production based on a sustainable production system which maintains and/or increases soil fertility”.

Jimma University.png

Jimma University

Jimma University (JU) is one of the leading public premiers in Ethiopia, renowned in Africa, and recognized in the world. Jimma University is a center of academic excellence integrating Training, Research, and community services.

bottom of page